Review: PlantFusion Plant Protein Powder

Posted in: Diet, Nutrition ♦ Friday, January 20th, 2012, 6:08 pm ♦ 19 Comments

I spend a lot of time in the Self Guided Program talking about the importance of balance in a GP-friendly diet, particularly among carbohydrates, protein, and fat. Most GPers eat way too many carbohydrates and not enough protein, which is essential for the body to function properly. Protein powders can come in handy, particularly for those of us who don’t do well with animal protein and/or are limiting dairy products. Protein powders are processed foods, of course, so we want to choose ones that have the highest quality ingredients possible. No artificial sweeteners or colors and no sugar alcohols (which can contribute to bloating, pain, cramping, and gas). It also has to be low in fiber, taste reasonably good, and, of course, be well-tolerated.

It’s been a struggle for me to find a protein powder that fits that description. Soy protein is questionable, in my opinion. Whey doesn’t settle well. Brown rice is gritty. Hemp protein has too much fiber. Same for many of the other plant-based powders. For a while I used MRM egg white protein powder, but it was hit or miss in the tolerability category. I tried using Orgain in my fruit smoothies instead of protein powder/water, but that aggravated reflux and regurgitation (I do great with watered-down Orgain on its own).

This week I stumbled upon PlantFusion Plant Protein Powder, which fits all of the above requirements. And I’m loving it! I first saw it at my local health food store, but ordered from Amazon since it was quite a bit cheaper. I bought the chocolate flavor and I’ve been making chocolate-blueberry-banana smoothies in my Vitamix this week (yep, I use blueberries — only in the Vitamix, though!). They’re going down — and staying down — great!

PlantFusion is vegan, soy-free, dairy-free, and gluten-free. It offers complete protein, which means it contains the essential amino acids (the ones our bodies cannot make). The protein is a combination of pea, brown rice, and artichoke. Doesn’t sound very appetizing, but it tastes pretty good! The powder also contains an enzyme formula, which may help with the digestion and absorption of nutrients. It does contain a small amount of fructose, which I have been trying to limit as part of a low FODMAP-diet, but so far the amount in the powder doesn’t seem to bother to me.

Each scoop has 1.5 grams of fat, 1 gram of fiber, and 21 grams of plant-based protein.

If you try PlantFusion, let me know what you think! So far, I’m a big fan.

Related Posts:

Tags: , ,

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

19 Responses to “Review: PlantFusion Plant Protein Powder”

  1. Posted by: April
    January 20th, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Great! I’ll be trying this one as I’m almost out of protein powder! Do you know if you can mix this one in with baked goods?

  2. Posted by: Stephanie
    January 20th, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Wow, this looks great! Did you get this in a local store or order online? I tried a pea protein powder before but had too much fiber in it, where this seems to be more GP friendly. Like you, I’ve tried everything. The best I found was goat’s milk protein powder, which settled some days but not others. If only they would sub the fructose, but good to know it didn’t bother you. Now for the Vitamix and blueberries, seriously?! I think it’s time to stop putting off this purchase and get one ASAP!
    Thanks for the review : )

  3. Posted by: Hollie
    January 20th, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    I have been trying Beneprotein from Nestle. (like benefiber…) It has no flavor and dissolves well. It is made from whey protein, but is lactose free, I seem to tolerate it fairly well. I am going to look for the Plantfusion to compare it. I have purchased SO many kinds of protein powder, just to use it once or twice and chuck it, that I could probably fund a nice vacation! Thanks for sharing this one.

  4. Posted by: Crystal
    January 21st, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    April, I’m not sure, as I’ve never really used any protein powder in baked goods. Sorry!

  5. Posted by: Crystal
    January 21st, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Stephanie, I first saw it in a local store but ordered it from Amazon because it was quite a bit cheaper.

  6. Posted by: scott
    January 24th, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Hey Guys,

    I actually work for PlantFusion. Im really glad you like our product. We spent countless hours coming up with a super nutrient dense formula that sits well and taste delicious. For more information check out our website (www.plantfusion.net), and like us on facebook or twitter. That label is our old formula. Last summer we go rid of the brown rice, and added sprouted organic quinoa and amaranth. Making it an even better protein supplement. Depending on you area we should be in most independent health food stores, as well as the bigger chains (whole foods, vitamin shoppe, sprouts, sunflower, etc). PlantFusion is available in 4 flavors- Vanilla Bean, Chocolate, Chocolate Raspberry, and Unflavored ( You can bake with the unflavored- many people add it to their pancake, muffin, cookie, brownie mixes!) Let me know if you have any questions.

  7. Posted by: Crystal
    January 30th, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    Crystal-
    I enjoy your blog. What do you use for smoothies that are both GP friendly and low FODMAP?
    Thanks

  8. Posted by: Samantha
    February 1st, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    I do well with Amazing Meal. I drink 3 of these a day.
    http://www.amazon.com/Amazing-Grass-Chocolate-17-1-Ounce-Container/dp/B0038B1EOY

  9. Posted by: Katie
    February 3rd, 2012 at 11:13 pm

    This protein powder looked like a good option for me, as I have celiac and food allergies in addition to GP. I was a little worried about the fructose since I also do low FODMAPS but that didn’t seem to be an issue. Sadly, I found the vanilla flavor to be unappetizing, similar to the vanilla Nutrabiotic rice protein powder (I use plain rice protein powder now); could b just me, but it reminds me of medicine I had to take as a child. I will try the chocolate flavor and see if that tastes better, because it would great to have a more complete protein powder for my morning cereal that is less gritty than the Nutrabiotic.

  10. Posted by: Stephanie
    February 4th, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Crystal,

    Are you using a full serving of this per smoothie? I’m excited to give this a try soon!

    Also, about the Vitamix…I’m ready to make the big purchase and wondering what model you have. Want to make sure it blends those skins and seeds completely. Hoping I can add in some greens that will digest well too.

  11. Posted by: Stephanie
    February 4th, 2012 at 6:58 pm

    Hi Scott,
    Thanks for posting the info about your product. I have a few questions for you and the contact email seems to be returning back to me. If you see this post and get a chance I would love to connect when it’s convenient for you. My email is wasunflwr@yahoo.com. Thanks again :)

  12. Posted by: phinny
    March 14th, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Crystal – I will check this out for sure.

    One question. Why do you find soy protein powder questionable? I have been using a powdered soy protein powder from Trader Joes with good results (although I don’t have anything to compare it too as this is the first one I tried after much research). I am vegan so it’s important to me to stay away from animal foods.

    Thanks.

  13. Posted by: Crystal
    March 15th, 2012 at 12:11 am

    Soy is particularly difficult for many people to digest, mostly because it was traditionally eaten when fermented as in miso. The soy products — like soy milk, yogurt, ice cream, protein powders — are highly processed and tend to cause gas, bloating, etc. in many people with functional GI disorders like gastroparesis. If it works for you, that’s great! I just recommend plant based powders as they are less processed and easier to digest in most cases.

  14. Posted by: lindsay
    July 11th, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    I’ve been using plantfusion fir two years now. My favorite shake is chocolate with banana and premie butter. If I want a shake I add about 6-8 Oz very cold water. Otherwise, I make my protein pudding: 1 scoop chocolate mix, 1Tbs alcohol and gluten free vanilla, 2 big Tbs just nut nut butter (use peanut, almond,sunflower or cashew etc), banana and 4Oz water. Blend. Put into glass and cover with cling wrap. Chill about two hours. Bam! yummy. Don’t leave over night, changes flavors and texture.
    You can bake with it as well.

  15. Posted by: Kathryn
    August 2nd, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    Crystal, thank you so much for reviewing this product! I haven’t had much success with protein powders in the past (whey makes me very nauseous) but I love Plant Fusion. It took several tries to find the right consistency, but I like 1 scoop of the chocolate or chocolate raspberry flavor mixed with 5 oz. rice milk and 5 oz. water as an afternoon snack.

  16. Posted by: Crystal
    August 3rd, 2012 at 7:59 am

    So glad it’s working for you, Kathryn! I’m going to try to your ratio.

  17. Posted by: Carol R.
    October 7th, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Recently I was told I had a high intolerance for eggs ( that had been my breakfast source of protein) , so I bought PlantFusion Powder at my local vitamin store . I bought several flavors in individual packets, just to test them. I had never tried protein powder before, so I tried it without prejudice.

    I started with the Vanilla Bean with water ( as described on the packet) in a blender…and didn’t add anything. I was not impressed. BUT the next time, I added half of a frozen banana, a few frozen strawberries, and it tasted very good.

    AND EVEN BETTER than that…I replaced the water with ALMOND MILK…it thickened it up…very satisfying! I did the same thing with the Chocolate and the Chocolate Raspberry (added frozen raspberries to that one)…all the flavors had very good results. I enjoy the shakes every morning! I have a very sensitive stomach, but even the fructose isn’t bothering me!! And I find I sustain the benefits of the protein for breakfast, just a long as I did when I was eating my daily scrambled 2 egg whites/1 yolk.

    I recommend this protein powder…just play with it, add things you like…especially to the Vanilla Bean…that one is like a “blank canvas” just waiting for you to experiment!!

  18. Posted by: Dave
    May 10th, 2013 at 11:15 am

    hi! fellow CHC here… i’ve tried several proteins and have found basically the same thing you said. I think the plain, unsweetened is the least offensive to the stomach and my reflux?? symtpoms (self diagnosis). do you have any experience with difficulty breathing and swallowing with reflux? I don’t have what I would call classic symptoms, generally no regurgitation but mostly trouble breathing, chest throat and stomach discomfort/burning, and shortness of breath… any thoughts? thanks

  19. Posted by: Jennifer R
    October 26th, 2013 at 12:36 am

    Dave, you might want to see if you have eosinophilic esophagitis — it has those same symptoms, but when it gets bad, it turns into food impaction (food gets stuck, sometimes pills do too). I have it and was diagnosed in the ER when food got stuck.

    My question is: I saw a report from Consumer Reports that many protein powders are contaminated with heavy metals. Has this one been tested by a third party?

Leave a Reply

Monthly tips, recipes & more

Click here to sign up for my monthly Living WELL newsletter. You'll also get a coupon code for 15% off the Eating for Gastroparesis eBook!


Group Program Starts Soon!

The Living (Well!) with Gastroparesis Group Program starts March 3rd. Register before February 3rd to take advantage of 4 weeks of "Warm Up" Classes!Get the details.


Browse Posts




Follow Me on Facebook